Skip to main content


Department of Crop Science

Welcome to Department of Crop Science

The mission of the Department is to train students for careers in agronomy, horticulture, sustainable agriculture, biotechnology and other related disciplines.

Department of Crop Science at the Eastern University of Sri Lanka was established in December, 2007. Earlier it was attached with the Department of Agronomy as Division of Crop Science since 1980. Crop Science is a diverse and potential discipline. The mission of the Department is to train students for careers in Sustainable Agriculture, Agronomy, Horticulture and Biotechnology related disciplines. The Department offers broad range of core and advance courses related to Crop Science in all four years of the B.Sc. Agriculture. It has a well-maintained crop farm which provides opportunities for practical experiences, research studies and hand on training to the undergraduate students. The Department has six academic staff members specialized in various disciplines in Crop Science. The members of the Department are deliberatively involved in teaching, research, academic administration and community outreach programs.

Head/Department of Crop Science

Dr T. Geretharan
B.Sc. (EUSL), M.Sc.(UPDN), M.Phil.(UPDN), Ph.D. (Massey University, New Zealand)
Senior Lecturer in Crop Science /
Research Interest: Agronomy, Climate change on Crop production, Contaminants in Agriculture Soils, Regenerative Agriculture